This is the "What databases should I use?" page of the "EDU 350/PSY 350 Educational Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EDU 350/PSY 350 Educational Psychology  

Last Updated: Jul 13, 2017 URL: http://mckendree.libguides.com/edupsych Print Guide RSS Updates

What databases should I use? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Where to find databases

Go to the Library Homepage

Click on "Journals and Articles." 

Click on "A-Z" list. 

If you are off-campus, you'll need to log in with your McKendree crendentials (the same login you use to access your email). 

Choose from the list of available databases. The nature of assignments for this class means you might use education databases, or you might use psychology databases. No matter what database you use, you'll need to be able to identify what a scholarly journal is and how to find them. Please see the rest of the tabs on this page for more information. 

 

Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES has scholarly and non-scholarly content in the field of Psychology. It also includes a lot of full-text results. Here is a list of journals included in this database.

This full-text psychology database contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.

PsycINFO

This database is the APA's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed. Here is a list of included content

One thing to keep in mind about PsycINFO is that a lot of the results are not full-text, so you will need to use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan. See the Interlibrary Loan tab for more information (start early!). 

 

Education Databases

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)

The Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC has content going back to 1966. ERIC is a staple for educators and educators to be, so it would be a good database to get to know. 

ERIC has some full-text content, and many more abstracts, so this is something you might need to use in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan. Check out the Interlibrary Loan tab for more information. Here is a list of content included in this database

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for thousands journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. This database also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

This database includes scholarly and non-scholarly content. Here is a list of content included in this database

 

General Databases

There are also general, multidisciplinary databases that do have scholarly content that will work great for this subject area. In addition to the other databases above, you also might give these a try. 

Sage Journals Online

Sage's content focuses on science, technology and medicine, and the intersection of those topics. Some of the topics you research in Educational Psychology fall into these categories (or are related), while some may not. If your topic is included in this database, the content will be wonderful, scholarly, peer-reviewed content. It wont' be right for every topic. 

JSTOR

JSTOR has 772 titles in Education, and 359 titles in Psychology. JSTOR has mostly scholarly, peer-reviewed content. There are also other areas which might intersect with your topic. Try the advanced search to easily zero in on the right type of content. 

Academic Search Complete

Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals.  The level and range of content included in this resource fully supports scholarly research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and much more. You will have to take care to make sure the items you are selecting meet the standards for scholarly research. 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Paula Martin
Contact Info
618-537-6952
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip