This is the "Databases" page of the "Biology 101" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology 101  

Last Updated: Jul 13, 2017 URL: http://mckendree.libguides.com/bio101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases for Biology Research

Here is a rundown of the specific databases which contain content in the sciences. Some are entirely full-text, and some have full-text and abstracts. To acquire articles from the abstract-only entries, see the Interlibrary Loan tab. 

JSTOR

jstorJSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database. It contains scholarly, peer-reviewed articles across all the disciplines offered at McKendree University, and more.

JSTOR has 248 journal titles in biological sciences, 135 in botany/plant sciences, 93 titles in ecology and evolutionary biology, and 75 in zoology. JSTOR is a wonderful choice when you need something that is scholarly in nature and has been through the peer-review process. JSTOR is entirely full-text.

 

 

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is also a multi-disciplinary database, with a collection specifically for biology. It contains both scholarly and non-scholarly (popular) content. In this database you will find both full-text articles and abstracts for articles that you can get through Interlibrary Loan. Use the limiters on the left side for a more specific search, where you can narrow by peer reviewed status, year, subject, geography, and more.

 

Masterfile Premier


Masterfile Premier

Masterfile Premier is multi-disciplinary, and it contains both scholarly and non-scholarly (popular) content. It also has full-text refernece books, which can help you do preliminary or background research on your topic. Masterfile Premier contains some scholarly journals, along with popular magazines, trade publications, reference books, images, and some primary-source documents. 

 

Sage Journals Online

Sage Journals

Sage Journals online is a source for peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. This doens't have the quantity of journals found in other sources, but the content is very high quality. They cover life sciences, cell biology, biochemistry, and a few more specialized areas of Life & Biomedical Sciences. 

 

Ebsco Discovery Service

Ebsco Discovery Service

Ebsco Discovery Service searches most of the content that the library owns. It also indexes open access journals, along with the scholarly and non-scholarly content from other databasese. It is a powerful search that can yeild a great number of results, but if you use the tools on the left hand side to narrow your search, you will find it to be a very useful search tool. 

You will find both full-text and abstract-only content in this search tool. 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Paula Martin
Contact Info
618-537-6952
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip